Clinician Scientist Fellowships

Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry - Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute

Competition No.  -    A104445030
Closing Date  -    Aug 31, 2021

The Neuroscience and Mental Health Institute (NMHI) at the University of Alberta is offering two fellowships to attract outstanding clinician scientists in training to the University of Alberta to conduct postdoctoral research in neurology and neuroscience: The Mildred I. Olsen Neurology Fellowship and The University Hospital Foundation Neurology Fellowship.

The NMHI is a multi-faculty, interdisciplinary teaching and research institute located at the University of Alberta. It is home to over 150 scientists and clinicians, spanning across all areas of neuroscience and mental health.


To apply for this competition:

  • Your supervisor must be a member of the NMHI (applicants must identify and contact a potential NMHI supervisor before applying);
  • You must hold an MD and plan to work in an area that falls within the NMHI research areas;
  • You must provide a complete application form along with all required accompanying documents. 

Award Details

The Mildred I. Olsen Neurology Fellowship and the University Hospital Foundation Neurology Fellowship will be awarded for a term of one year. The value of each fellowship is $70,000 to be used towards salary costs; supervisors are responsible for benefits. The awards are tenable at the University of Alberta.


Please visit the NMHI website for details on how to apply.  

All qualified candidates are encouraged to apply; however, Canadians and permanent residents will be given priority. If suitable Canadian citizens or permanent residents cannot be found, other individuals will be considered. The University of Alberta is committed to an equitable, diverse, and inclusive workforce. We welcome applications from all qualified persons. We encourage women; First Nations, Métis and Inuit persons; members of visible minority groups; persons with disabilities; persons of any sexual orientation or gender identity and expression; and all those who may contribute to the further diversification of ideas and the University to apply.